image description

Hall of Fame Weekend Celebration

November 6th, 2018

More than 400 guests celebrated the newest members of the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame Friday night at the Samuel Riggs Alumni Center.


The evening began with uplifting remarks from President Loh and Athletic Damon Evans, and an invocation from HOF Member Kevin Glover.  Post dinner, Johnny Holliday, the voice of the Terps, served as the Emcee and reviewed each of the Inductees remarkable accomplishments, followed by the Inductees acceptance speeches.


Men’s basketball player Adrian Branch, women’s volleyball player Eden Kroeger Burks, gymnast Gillian Cote Cook, men’s soccer player Jason Garey, football player LaMont Jordan, fencing athlete Howard Labow, women’s lacrosse and field hockey player Karen Trudel Martellucci, women’s lacrosse head coach and student-athlete Cathy Nelson Reese and men’s lacrosse player Joe Walters were officially inducted into the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame surrounded by friends, family, teammates, coaches and supporters.


PepsiCo Chief Executive Officer and former Maryland student-athlete Albert Carey was honored at the event as Distinguished Citizen of the Year. Also presented honorary M Club Awards to Wanda Alexander, Mike Freiman, Don Pearman and Don Scheeler for their longtime dedication to Maryland athletics.


The inductees attended the M Club Tailgate, sponsored by Coakley Williams and recognized on the field during the first quarter of Saturday’s game vs. Michigan State.


Photos of the event can be found here: Hall of Fame Photo Gallery



Comments are closed.

Renew or Join Now!

Membership Payments


Subscribe to Auto-Renwal

Keep Your Membership Active