Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1982 by the M Club Foundation as a joint project with the Athletic Department. The Hall of Fame pays tribute to those superior Terp athletes, coaches and administrators who have made major contributions to the honor and fame of the University, and have continued to demonstrate the positive values learned through competing in intercollegiate sports. This award is the highest honor the University can bestow on former athletes.

The Selection Committee consists of thirteen members, including five permanent members: the Athletics Director or designee, the Athletics Council Chair, and the M Club’s President, Executive Director and Historian as well as eight at-large members (four selected by the Athletics Director and four selected by the M Club). All members must have a strong understanding of Terps athletics. They must meet annually to elect a maximum of six (6) inductees. Anyone may propose candidates using forms provided by the M Club.


The M Club works with the athletic department to plan the biannual Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame banquet to honor our most accomplished athletes, coaches, and administrators.


In 2004, the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony became a separate event. It is now the University’s premier attraction for honoring its greatest athletic achievers. Included in the awards ceremony is the naming of our Distinguished Citizen and electing new Honorary M Club members.


Renew or Join Now!

Membership Payments


Subscribe to Auto-Renwal

Keep Your Membership Active